A Cliffhanger

Or: The Story of How I’m Two Credits Away From a Human Services Degree.

I did not finish getting my associates in human services. For a number of reasons, honestly, but ultimately it came down to this: I failed my ethics class because I didn’t like showing up, and by the time I knew that I failed it, I was already scheduled to start taking classes here at Lincoln in the fall. I didn’t particularly want to pursue any more degrees in the field of human services (despite University of Bridgeport offering me a hefty scholarship), so I let it go. Sure, I was upset at first. Who wouldn’t be? I already had my cap and gown! I didn’t even walk at high school graduation, I really, really wanted to make this walk for college. 

A stupid three credit ethics class is sitting there, mocking me. It was the dumbest course! LITERALLY the only thing we did for the entire semester was go over why it’s bad to sleep with your clients and play bingo games about morality. I wish I was even remotely kidding. If I had to pick someone sticking bamboo slivers under my fingernails or ever, ever having to take that class again, I would gladly pick the slivers.

But: here’s the thing. I would really like to have two degrees under my belt. I’ve carefully budgeted and balanced my classes for next semester so that I only have three. THREE. Any they’re only on Tuesday and Thursday! Do you know what this means? I have ALL of Monday, Wednesday and Friday to finish up that three credit course online and have my associates in human services one semester before I’m ready to get another one. Two degrees in the span of less than a year? I’d be pretty proud. 

I feel like I’m in a pretty unique position here. I’m rocketing through the required classes for my MOS degree. I could have had a four class load this semester and been fine to graduate spring ’14. … providing I pass seminar. THAT’S NEITHER HERE NOR THERE. 

I think I’m going to do it. I do like learning, as much as I hated that ethics class. I kind of rambled tonight. Sorry guys. I got all nostalgic for that feeling of being mostly done with something. 

~ by mementomorissa on March 20, 2013.

5 Responses to “A Cliffhanger”

  1. Here’s what you do. You go back and take that class, and every time it turns into the dumbest class ever you write about it here or in a newer more anonymous blog and we all have a laugh. Plus you get your two degrees.

  2. Good luck I know you can do it! :DDDDDDD

    • Cat I feel like I should make you a little golden sticker with “Marissa’s Biggest Fan” on it. You can put it on tumblr, or on Facebook or something. Please continue being lovely.

      • Please do! I really admire you for you and everything you do for the Mortuary field 😀
        If you could make me a sticker that would be great lol

Leave a Reply

 
